Spring has sprung, hug a tree-better yet, plant one.

The northern hemisphere is finally heating up and seasonal affective disorder is becoming a faint memory, positivity is in abundance once again. The leaves haven’t yet sprouted here in Edinburgh, but each and every day one hopes to see those little green buds sprouting out.

Trees are great, and in dedication to such a great species, I give you three fabulous tree-dedications.

1) Best looking tree with the best view in 2010:

This beautiful tree stands in envy of  others.

Big,

well nurtured,

perfect foliage,

greener than grass

and  holding onto one of the best views of the Ngorongoro Crater around.

If only the old man could see…

2) Best Design Concept relating to a tree:

Bill McDonough-Cradle to Cradle discussion at TED in 2005

3) Funniest tree revenge commentary:

Dane Cook-Vicious Circle

The best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago.

The second best time to plant a tree is now.

About derm

I have a job in Scotland, working on business and climate change. With a passion for and graduate schooling in whole-systems sustainability from Sweden, I try to keep my hand on the pulse of the sustainability world through various side-projects with friends and peers. I've written reports on water, on true costing of food and natural resources, responsible investing, and on global organizational networks. I love hill running, probably because I left all the powder skiing back in British Columbia. I also love seeing things grow and looking at something familiar with new eyes. I think I could live happily for a year on pizza and nachos, although I'd prefer to not find out. I believe wild animals have a message for us, and it may be something to do with the fact that they've been getting a bum deal on this planet lately. When I was little I believed that there was someone special out there for each and everyone of us. I still believe that. I know world is a complex place, and feel that open and honest communication is probably one of the few sure ways to lead us to success.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

